Tuesday, August 30, 2011

NHL Realignment Proposal (continued)

Here is one more realignment suggestion for the NHL. This one is just a minor change from the second suggestion in my last post. I just switched the Buffalo Sabres and Montreal Canadiens. Another change is water-based divisional names. Honestly though, the North Pacific Division could remain the Northwest with four of the five team currently in the division. The South Pacific could be the Southwest or just the Pacific also with four of five teams remaining. The South Atlantic could be the Southeast with three teams being held over. The Great Lakes Division could remain the Central with the Chicago Blackhawks and Detroit Red Wings being holdovers. The North Atlantic could be the Northeast, with the Boston Bruins and Montreal Canadiens remaining. The Mid-Atlantic could be the new Atlantic Division with holdovers Pittsburgh Penguins and Philadelphia Flyers from the current version. I also considered North Central for the Central/Great Lakes and South Central for the Mid-Atlantic. However, the name South Central has some negative connotations.

Northern Conference
North Pacific Division
Great Lakes Division
North Atlantic Division
Calgary Flames
Edmonton Oilers
Minnesota Wild
Vancouver Canucks
Winnipeg Jets
Buffalo Sabres
Chicago Blackhawks
Detroit Red Wings
Ottawa Senators
Toronto Maple Leafs
Boston Bruins
Montreal Canadiens
New Jersey Devils
New York Islanders
New York Rangers
Southern Conference
South Pacific Division
Mid-Atlantic Division
South Atlantic Division
Anaheim Ducks
Colorado Avalanche
Los Angeles Kings
Phoenix Coyotes
San Jose Sharks
Columbus Blue Jackets
Pittsburgh Penguins
Philadelphia Flyers
St. Louis Blues
Washington Capitals
Carolina Hurricanes
Dallas Stars
Florida Panthers
Nashville Predators
Tampa Bay Lightning

No comments:

Post a Comment